A stellar group of 18 high school athletes, coaches, and contributors were inducted into the NJSIAA Hall of Fame. All 2022 inductees recognized during a celebratory event at the Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village in Princeton were selected by a statewide committee of journalists and both active and retired school administrators.

“This 2022 class is yet another reminder that there never seems to be a shortage of remarkable individuals to honor,” says Colleen Maguire, NJSIAA executive director. “Scholastic athletics in New Jersey has a long, and tremendously proud history, and nothing testifies to that more than the exceptional groups of inductees we have year, after year, after year.”

The 2022 Hall of Fame class were initially announced during 2021, but restrictions related to the pandemic delayed the formal induction ceremony. Yesterday’s event also included a number of service awards, two Award of Honor presentations, and the NFCA Northeast Sectional Volleyball Coach of the Year.

A list of all those honored during the induction ceremony follows. Further details, including biographical information, are available at HOF Program 2022.indd (njsiaa.org)

Click here for a link to headshots of all those honored at the ceremony.

Hall of Fame 2022 Inductees

Robert Auriemma, Ice Hockey coach, Brick Township H.S.
Joetta Clark Diggs, Track & Field, Columbia H.S., 1980
William “Mickey” Corcoran, Basketball coach and athletic director, Horace Mann / River Dell / Northern Highlands high schools (posthumous)
Virginia Duenkel Fuldner, Swimming, West Orange H.S., 1965
Christopher Ford, Basketball, Holy Spirit H.S., 1968
Tom Heath, Cross-Country coach, Christian Brothers Academy
Kenny Jackson, Football, South River H.S., 1979
Thomas Lopes, Basketball official
Eulace Peacock, Track & Field, Union H.S., 1933 (posthumous)
Harding William Peterson, Baseball, Woodbridge H.S., 1946 (posthumous)
Tricia Popowski, Multiple sports, Hoffman H.S., 1987
Anthony Siragusa, Football, David Brearley Regional H.S., 1985
John Somogyi, Basketball, St. Peter’s New Brunswick H.S., 1968
Steven J. Timko, NJSIAA executive director
Andre Tippett, Football, Barringer H.S., 1978
Dajuan Wagner, Basketball, Camden H.S., 2001
Don Wieder, Boys Gymnastics coach, East Brunswick H.S. (posthumous)
Nancy Welch Williams, coached multiple sports, Shore Regional H.S.

Service Award Winners

Tom Fisher, Athletic Director, Phillipsburg HS
Lydia Siipola, Golf Tournament Sectional Director
John Siipola, Golf Tournament Sectional Director

NFCA Northeast Sectional Volleyball Coach of the Year

Jeff Koehler, Coach, Tenafly HS

Award of Honor recipients

Ed Colona, Cross Country/Track Rules Interpreter
Carl Rickershauser, Cross Country/ Track Meet Director

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *