NJPAC and the Newark Branch of the NAACP are hosting the 24th annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards on Jan. 15 at 6 p.m. The event will be streamed live on NJPAC’s Facebook page.

This year honorees are Newark Public School Board member A’Dorian Murray-Thomas, who will receive the Visionary of the Dream Award and State Sen. Ronald L. Rice, who will receive the Steward of the Dream Award.

Khalil Gibran Muhammad, professor of History, Race and Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School, and the Suzanne Young Murray Professor at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Studies  will give the ceremony’s keynote address. Muhammad directs the Institutional Antiracism and Accountability Project and is the former Director of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, a division of the New York Public Library and the world’s leading library and archive of global Black history.

Rick Thigpen, Senior Vice President, Corporate Citizenship at PSEG and the chair of the PSEG Foundation, will provide opening remarks, and students in NJPAC’s Wells Fargo Jazz For Teens and other arts education programs will perform during the celebration.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.